AFTRS Indigenous Scholarships are awarded on the basis of merit or equity. The scholarships are intended to assist Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander award course students, who may otherwise be under-represented, with the costs associated with higher education at AFTRS.

Applications for the 2018 Indigenous Scholarships open 1 July 2017 and have the following closing dates:

  • Bachelor of Arts Screen: 3 October 2017
  • Postgraduate courses: 16 October 2017
  • Diplomas & Advanced Diplomas: 1 December 2017

Dates vary per program and for more information refer to the relevant guidelines below for more details.


AFTRS MAS Indigenous Scholarship funds are provided by The Kenneth Myer Fellowship Trust.

Each scholarship is valued up to $25,000 and is for one year only. There are two scholarships available in 2018.

$12,500 will be awarded each semester, to be paid following the applicable census date. Payments are conditional on the recipient remaining enrolled, in good academic standing, and continuing to meet the eligibility and disadvantage criteria, and any other conditions.


AFTRS provides support to other Indigenous students enrolled in award courses. AFTRS’ fund for the scholarships is managed through the Indigenous Unit and overseen by the CEO. AFTRS may give support for a range of purposes associated with a course. For example, AFTRS may contribute towards relocation costs, study resources and other costs, at AFTRS’ discretion.

The amount of support may vary, from $500 to $10,000, depending on the course and a student’s individual circumstances. In exceptional circumstances, higher financial support may be given. Where a course runs for more than one semester, payments will be made in each semester in equal instalments.

Generally, payments will be made after the applicable census date and are conditional on the student remaining enrolled, in good academic standing, and continuing to meet the eligibility criteria and any other conditions.

Download the 2018 Indigenous Scholarships Guidelines

Contact the Indigenous Unit for more details:


The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.