Oct 13 2009

AFTRS Radio Graduates Winners at the 2009 ACRAs

AFTRS Radio graduates featured heavily in the final honour roll of winners at the 2009 Australian Commercial Radio Awards (ACRAs) held in Sydney on Saturday October 10.

The ACRAs are a major highlight of the year for the commercial radio industry, and a celebration of excellence and achievement.

Nine AFTRS Radio graduates came away with awards this year including:

Joel Gosper

Commercial Radio Broadcasting Course, 1998

Most Popular Station Manager

981 2NM/98.1 Power FM, Muswellbrook, NSW, Grant Broadcasters (C)

Ashleigh Hudson

Voice Over course 2008

Best Newcomer Off-air

104.7/MIX 106.3, Canberra, ACT, ARN/Austereo (P)

Fyona Smith

Commercial Radio Programming Course, 2009

Best Music Personality (P)

Best Music Director (P)

Best Music Special (P)

92.7 Mix FM, Sunshine Coast, QLD, Macquarie Southern Cross Media

Jason Morrison

Commercial Radio Broadcasting Course, 1994

Brian White Memorial Award

2GB, Sydney, NSW, Macquarie Radio Network

Kristy Warner

Grad Dip Commercial Radio Broadcasting, 2002

Best News Presenter (M)

Nova 969, Sydney, NSW, DMG Radio Australia (FM)

Matt Clark

Grad Cert Commercial Radio Programming, 2008

Best Documentary – Victorian Bushfire Tribute (NM)

Best Sports Event Coverage – Olympians Touching Down (NM)

107.7 2G0/101.3 Sea FM, Central Coast, NSW, Macquarie

Southern Cross Media

Blake Gibson

Grad Cert Commercial Radio Programming, 2006

Best Documentary – Obama Becomes President (M)

2UE, Sydney, NSW, Fairfax Radio Network

Brett Smith

Grad Dip Commercial Radio Broadcasting, 2008

Best Achievement in Production (C)

98.1 Power FM, Muswellbrook, NSW, Grant Broadcasters

Jacqui Pfeffer

Grad Dip Radio Broadcasting 2007

Best Music Special – 2NM’s December All Stars

Best Community Service Project - 2NM Power FM Black

Coal Cup Day.

981 2NM/98.1 Power FM, Muswellbrook, NSW, Grant Broadcasters

Please note - (C) Country, (P) Provincial, (NM) Non Metropolitan, (M) Metropolitan

Image: Kristy Warner, Winner of Best News Presenter (M).

Photo from Commercial Radio Australia website, Oneill Photographics.


The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.