Still from 'Sleeping Beauty' featuring a young girl getting her make-up done Still from 'Sleeping Beauty'

Dec 6 2011

The Slap and Cloudstreet lead the television nominees in the inaugural AACTA Awards (the refreshed AFIs).

Also featuring in nominations are East West 101, Mrs. Carey’s ConcertSpirited, Offspring, Rake and My Place.

The nominees were announced on November 30. Congrtulations to all of the nominees and the following AFTRS alumni who have been recognised. We look forward to the results being announced at the awards in January, 2012.

Best Direction

  • The HunterDaniel Nettheim (Directing)
  • Red DogKriv Stenders (Cinematography)
Best Original Screenplay
  • The Loved OnesSean Byrne (Directing)

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • The HunterAlice Addison (Screenwriting)

Best Sound

  • The Hunter: Sam Petty (Sound and Editing) David Lee, Robert Mackenzie, Les Fiddess MPSE, Tony Murtagh (Sound), Tom Heuzenroeder

Best Original Music Score

  • The HunterMatteo Zingales (Screen Composition) Michael Lira, Andrew Lancaster (Sound)

Best Production Design

  • The Eye Of The StormMelinda Doring (Design)
  • Sleeping BeautyAnnie Beauchamp (Design)

Best Television Drama Series

  • East West 101, Season 3, The Heroes' JourneySteve Knapman (Directing) Kris Wyld
  • Rake: Ian Collie, Peter Duncan (Screenwriting) Richard Roxburgh
  • Spirited, Season 2: Claudia Karvan, Jacquelin Perske (Screenwriting)

Best tele-feature, mini series or short run series

  • The SlapTony Ayres (Scriptwriting), Helen Bowden, Michael McMahon

Best Short Animation

  • Forget me NotEmily Dean (Digital Media)

Best Feature Length Documentary

  • Mrs Carey's Concert: Bob Connolly (Documentary) Helen Panckhurst, Sophie Raymond.

Best Documentary Series

  • Outback Fight Club: Paul Scott, Isabel Perez (Producing)

Best Direction in a Documentary
  • Mrs Carey's Concert: Bob Connolly (Documentary) Sophie Raymond.
  • The Tall Man - Tony Krawitz (Directing)

Best Cinematography in a Documentary

  • Jandamara's WarAllan Collins ACS (Cinematography), Jim Frater, Rust Geller

Best Editing in a Documentary

  • Mrs Carey's Concert: Sophie Raymond, Ray Thomas ASE, Nick Meyers ASE (Editing)
  • The Tall Man - Rochelle Oshlack (Screenwriting)

Best Sound in a Documentary

  • murundak - songs of freedom: Emma Bortignon, Michael Letho, Peter Smith, Christopher O'Young (Screen Composition), Simon Walbrook

Best of luck everyone


The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.