Still from 'Rake' featuring man being questioned by media Still from 'The Rake' retrieved from ABC TV's website

Sep 27 2011


Six AFTRS people scooped up 2011 AWGIE awards this year at a ceremony held last Friday evening at Doltone House in Sydney's Pyrmont…

Lisa Hoppe (A current Graduate Diploma in Producing & Screen Business student) along with Bobbie Waterman, Winner: Best Short Film Script for Heck

Peter Duncan (Screenwriting, 1994) Winner: Television-Series forRake: Episode 5: R v. Chandler

Tony Krawitz (Directing, 2001) Winner: Documentary - Public Broadcast for The Tall Man

Nicholas Parsons (Directing, 1986) Winner: Children's Television -
My Place: 1868 Minna

Andrea Rogers (Graduate Certificate - Screen Drama, 2008) Recipient Monte Miller Award-Long Form forDiving for Poland

Ian David (Directing, 1984) Recipient of the 2011 RICHARD LANE AWARD
for Outstanding Service and Dedication to the Australian Writers' Guild

Meanwhile across town the APDG also presented their annual awards and two following
AFTRS Production Design alumni picked up awards including

Jane Shadbolt (Design, 1998) Winner for Design On a Short
Film for The Cartographer

Aaron Crothers (Design, 2001) Highly Commended for Design on an Advertisement for HondaCRV

and special mention should go to Sam Hobbs (Design, 2002) who art directed Beneath Hill 60 for which Clayton Jauncey was awarded Best Design on a Feature Film.

Still: Rake


The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.