Still from 'Wish You Were Here' featuring actors Joel Edgerton and Felecity Price sitting on a porch, staring off into the distance. Still from 'Wish You Were Here'

Nov 28 2012

The 2012 ASSG awards were held last Sunday evening, in Sydney, and we are delighted to report that a swag of awards went to current AFTRS sound students and sound alumni.

Big congratulations to the following winners:

  • Greg Bell Student Encouragement Award: Beth Bezzina (Graduate Diploma in Sound, 2012) & Jean-Marc Serret (Graduate Diploma in Sound, 2012)
  • Best Sound for a Short Fiction Film for CryoJenny WardJared DwyerPeter Climpson and Eren Sener
  • Best Sound for a Lifestyle, Reality or Live Television Audio Program: The Renovators (Series 1, Ep.1): Cate Cahill
  • Best Film Sound Recording for Burning Man: Paradox Delilah
  • Best Film Sound Design for Wish You Were Here: Sam Petty and Rosie Chase
  • Best Sound for a Television Drama for Redfern Now - Pretty Boy Blue: Mick BorasoLuke Mynott  and Andrew Simmons


The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.