A close up of actor Christina Ricci in the 'Around the Block' poster. Christina Ricci in AACTA nominated film 'Around the Block'; featuring the work of AFTRS alumni Roslyn Durnford and Justine Seymour.

Sep 25 2013


We took a good, close, look at the credits of the recently nominated features and shorts for the upcoming AACTAs and put together a 2013 AFTRS/AACTA honour roll:

  • 100 Bloody Acres

    - Cinematography by John Brawley (MA Cinematography, 2007)
  • Around The Block
    - Set Decoration by Roslyn Durnford (Graduate Diploma Production Design, 2010)
    - Costume Design by Justine Seymour (MA Design, 2001) 
  • Dead Europe
    - Directed by Tony Krawitz (MA Directing, 2001) 
  • Drift

    - Original Music by Michael Yezerski (Graduate Certificate Screen Music, 2001)
  • Goddess

    - Production Design Annie Beauchamp (BA Design, 1994)
    - Sound, five of the team of 15 in the Sound Department include AFTRS alumni: Supervising Sound Editor John Dennison (Graduate Diploma Directing, 1984), Supervising sound editor/sound re-recording mixer Tony Vaccher (Graduate Diploma Sound, 1984), Sound Effects Editor's Adrian Bilinsky (MA Sound, 2004) and Luke Mynott (MA Sound, 2006), Sound Assistant Paradox Delilah (Graduate Diploma Sound, 2009)
    - Visual Effects Artist Amanda Lee (Graduate Certificate 3D Animation, 2010) as one of a team of 16 in Visual Effects
  • Mystery Road

    - Written, Directed, Original Music, Cinematography and Editing by Ivan Sen (BA Directing, 1998)
  • Return to Nim's Island

    - Cinematography by Judd Overton (MA Cinematography, 2004)
  • The Rocket

    - Original Music by Caitlin Yeo (Graduate Diploma Screen Composition, 2003)
- Cinematography by Andrew Commis (MA Cinematography, 1999)
    - Editing by Nick Meyers (Editing, 1992)
    - Production Design by Peter Baxter (Screen Design, 1996)
- Dialogue Editor Yulia Akerholt (BA Sound, 1996)
  • Satellite Boy

    - Written/directed by Catriona McKenzie (MA Directing, 2001 and Screenwriting, 1996)
    - Production Design Sam Hobbs (MA Design, 2002)
    - Sound Designer Liam Egan (BA Sound, 1987) as part of a team of 9 in the Sound Department
    - Visual Effects/Data Manager Simon Alberry (MA Digital Media, 2001)
  • The Turning
    - 4 of the 18 directors are AFTRS alumni: Tony Ayres (Screenwriting, 1990), Robert Connolly (BA Producing, 1995), Claire McCarthy (Graduate Diploma Directing, 2001), Warwick Thornton (BA Cinematography, 1996)
    - 3 of the 16 Producers are AFTRS alumni: Robert Connolly (BA Producing, 1995), Julie Eckersley (Graduate Diploma Producing, 2010) and John Harvey (Graduate Certificate Directing & Screenwriting, 2008)
    - 1 of the 3 Screen Musicians includes AFTRS alumnus: Andrew Lancaster (BA Sound, 1994)
    - 3 of the 7 Cinematographers include AFTRS alumni: Denson Baker (Graduate Diploma Cinematography, 2001), John Brawley (Graduate Diploma Cinematography, 2006) and Warwick Thornton (BA Cinematography, 1996)
    - Production Design by: Annie Beauchamp (BA Design, 1994) and Elizabeth Mary Moore (Design, 1997)
    - 1 of the 10 Sound crew includes AFTRS alumnus: Tara Webb (Graduate Diploma Sound, 2011)


Four out of the eight nominated shorts feature the work of AFTRS alumni:

  • A Cautionary Tail
    - Cinematography by Callan Green (MA Cinematography, 2005)
    - Production Design by Xanthe Highfield (Graduate Diploma Design, 2006)
    - Sound by Luke Mynott (MA Sound, 2006), one of two.
  • Butterflies
    - Co-written and produced by Warwick Burton (MA Documentary, 2002)
    - Sound by Michael McMenomy (MA Sound, 2003) one of two.
  • The Dukes of Bröxstônia - Mojo
    - Co-produced by Jane Schneider (BA Directing, 1994) 1 of a team of 3
    - Sound by Damian Del Borrello (Graduate Diploma Sound, 2010)
  • Perception
    - Directed and written by Miranda Nation (Graduate Diploma Directing, 2010)
    - Produced by Sheila Jayadev (Graduate Certificate Producing, 2009), Lyn Norfor (Graduate Diploma Screen Business, 2010), Prue Williams (Graduate Diploma Screen Business, 2010)
    - Cinematography by Bonnie Elliott (MA Cinematography, 2006)
    - Editing by Katie Flaxman (MA Editing, 2006)

Congratulations to everyone who worked on the nominated films and shorts!

Image sourced from IMP Award's website.


The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.