ADG nominees & winners

Still from 'Redfern Now' featuring a close-up of a young indigenous boy and girl looking out of a car window.  She looks bored and he looks worried. A still from 'Redfern Now: Stand Up' directed by AFTRS alumnus Rachel Perkins, winner of ADG's Best Direction in a TV Drama Series.

May 7 2013

ADG 2013
Meanwhile over at the 2013 Australian Directors Guild Awards held last Friday night AFTRS alumni took out four top honours:

- Rachel Perkins (Directing, 1996) Best Direction in a TV Drama Series for Redfern Now

- Cate Shortland (Directing, 2000) Best Direction in a Feature Film for Lore

- Daniel Nettheim (Directing, 1995) Best Direction in a Children's TV Program for Dance Academy, Series 2, Ep 25 'The Second'

- Jessica Redenbach (Producing, 2008) Best Direction in a Short Film for Tender

Take a peek at a selection clips of AFTRS alumni over at the AFTRS Showcase channel >


The Australian Directors Guild recently announced the nominees for the 2013 ADG Awards for outstanding work by Australian screen directors over the past 12 months across 17 categories including: film, television, multiplatform, music and advertising. 

Perusing the honour roll the stay connected team spied a strong cohort of AFTRS alumni nommed for their work: 

- Rachel Perkins (Directing 1996) and Catriona McKenzie (2001)for Redfern Now

- Peter Duncan (Directing 1994) for Rake

- Cate Shortland (Directing 2000) for Lore

- Wayne Blair (AFTRS Indigenious Fellow, 2006/2007) for The Sapphires

- Tony Krawitz (Directing, 2001) for Dead Europe

- Rachel Perkins (Directing1996) for Mabo 

- Robert Connolly (Directing, 1995) for Underground: The Julian Assange Story 

- Daniel Nettheim (Directing 1995) Dance Academy, Series 2, Ep 25 'The Second' 

- Luke Eve (Producing, 2005) Great Southern Land

- Jessica Redenbach (Producing, 2008) for Tender

- Jad Haber (Grad Cert Directing, 2011) for Good Clean Fun

Congratulations to all - and please drop us a line if we have omitted any nominees from this list.

Image sourced from The Sydney Morning Herald's website.


The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.