Made the Cut

Still from 'Perception' featuring a close-up of a beautiful lady.  She's in a bar with pink and blue artificial light.  Her arm is stretched up over her head. Still from short film 'Perception', recipient of the 2012 Springboard Program, made by AFTRS alumni.

Jun 26 2013


Screen Australia announced last week that all five short films that were shortlisted to be workshopped as part of the 2013 Springboard Program, now in its fourth year, would be funded to go into production with $150,000 for each short.

All five teams will also receive ongoing support to develop their feature film scripts.

Three of the shortlisted shorts are the work of AFTRS alumni:

  • Bluey (supporting the feature Obelia)
writer/director Darlene Johnson (Graduate Diploma Directing, 1998), Producer Heather Oxenham

  • The Apartment (supporting the feature Dealer)
writers/directors Sam McKeith (Graduate Diploma Screen Writing, 2011) and Tom McKeith (Graduate Diploma Directing, 2010), Producer Robert Coe
  • Martha the Monster (supporting the feature Pest Control) writer/director Christopher Weekes, producers Michael Pontin (Graduate Diploma Producing & Screen Business, 2011) and Jamie Hilton.

The signs are super-positive for the AFTRS alumni going into production in this round of Springboard as one of the shorts created through Springboard 2012, Perception -- also the work of AFTRS alumni -- not only screened in the recent Sydney Film Festival Dendy Awards but also won Best Short.

Perception was written/directed by alumnus Miranda Nation (Graduate Diploma Directing, 2010), produced by Lyn Norfor (Graduate Diploma Screen Business, 2010), shot by Bonnie Elliot (MA Cinematography, 2006) and edited by Katie Flaxman (MA Editing, 2006)

Best of luck to all of the filmmakers and projects in Springboard 2013 and congratulations to Miranda, Lyn and the entire crew on the SFF win.


The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.