Rocketing Alumni Success

Still from 'The Rocket' featuring a happy young Laotian boy being pushed by his mother on a rope swing. Still from multiple award-winning film 'The Rocket' featuring the work of AFTRS alumni

Feb 24 2013

Debut feature The Rocket, written and directed by Kim Mordaunt, which - as we all know - scooped up three awards in Berlin last week (Best Feature in the Generation Kplus program, Best First Feature Award and the Amnesty International Film Prize) heavily featured the talents of a swag of AFTRS alumni, as follows:
  • Original music by Caitlin Yeo (Screen Composition, 2003)
  • Cinematography by Andrew Commis (Cinematography, 1999)
  • Editing by Nick Meyers (Editing, 1992)
  • Production Design by Peter Baxter (Screen Design, 1996)
  • Dialogue Editor Yulia Akerholt (Sound, 1996)
The international juries also awarded Special Mentions to Satellite Boy written and directed by AFTRS alumnus Catriona McKenzie.
Big congratulations to all involved.

Image sourced from The Sydney Morning Herald's website.


The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.