Tropfest Winners

Nicholas Clifford holding his trophy with Tropfest Festival Director John Polson Tropfest winner and AFTRS alumnus Nicholas Clifford and Tropfest Festival Director John Polson at Tropfest 2013.

Feb 25 2013

The 21st installment of the annual short film competition, Tropfest saw nearly 100,000 people roll out their picnic rugs to watch the finalist's films live last Sundaynight and AFTRS directing alumnus, Nicholas Clifford (Graduate Diploma Directing, 2009) scooped up the coveted 'fruit trophy' as the overall winner of Tropfest 2013.

We've All Been There
, directed by Nick, was chosen by a panel of judges.

As the winner Nick takes home a car, a $10,000 cash prize, a camera and a trip to Los Angeles for a week of 'meet-and-greets' with film executives.

While at AFTRS Nick directed one of four short films (Nicky Two Tone written by Christopher Lee) that combined to form the feature length film Before the Rain - an AFTRS/NIDA collaboration.

Recent graduate Jared Underwood (Graduate Certificate Screen Music, 2012), also picked up the coveted APRA Tropscore award on the night which sees musicians producing a musical score for a short film clip provided by Tropfest.

Big congratulations to both Nick and Jared on their Tropfest awards.

Watch Nick's winning short We've All Been There >

Image sourced from Tropfest's website.


The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.