ADG Nominations: 15 Alumini 4 Student Films

Close of a young woman Still from 2013 AFTRS student film 'The Wonderful'

Apr 10 2014

The nominations for this year’s ADG awards have been announced and the nominee list is bursting with AFTRS alumni and student films.

Four out of four student films in the ‘Student Film’ category are AFTRS student films congratulations to all:

The Wonderful (2013 AFTRS student film)
Director: Erin Good (Directing, 2013)
Writers: Erin Good & Sarah-Jane McAllan (Screenwriting, 2013)
Producer: Stacey Kwijas (Producing, 2013)
Cinematographer: Ella Gibbins (Cinematography, 2013)
Editor: Courtney Lee Bowden (Editing, 2013)
Production Designer: Amanda Safranko (Production Design, 2013)
Composer: Tiernan Cross (Screen Music, 2013)

The Fence (2012 AFTRS student film)
Director & Writer: Lucy Gaffy (MSA, 2014)
Producer: Lyn Norfor (2010, Screen Business)
Cinematographer: James Brown (Cinematography, 2009)
Editor: Adrian Chiarella (Screenwriting, 2012)
Production Designer: Sally Addinsall (Producing Design, 2013)
Location & Post Sound: Mia Stewart (Sound, 2009)
Composer: Matt McGowen (Screen Music, 2012)

By This River (2012 AFTRS student film)
Director: Melissa Anastasi (Directing, 2012)
Writers: Melissa Anastasi & Christopher Squadrito (MSA, 2013)
Producer: Rachel Argall (Screenwriting, 2013)
Cinematographer: Seamus Mullen (Cinematography, 2012)
Editor: Caitlin Spiller (Editing, 2012)
Production Designer: Tanika Rainbow Pratt (Production Design, 2012)
Location Sound: Jean-Marc Serret (Sound, 2012)
Post Sound: Paddy Boylan (Sound, 2012)
Composer Melisande Wright (Screen Music, 2012)

Stuffed (2013 AFTRS student film)
Director & writer: Warwick Young (MSA, 2013)
Producer: Rachel Argall (Screenwriting, 2013)
Cinematography: Jeremy Rouse
Editor: Dany Cooper
Production Designer: Ella Carey (Production Design, 2012)
Location Sound: Gareth Evans (Sound, 2012)
Post Sound: Diego Ruiz (Sound, 2011)
Composer: Matthew Rudduck (Screen Music, 2012)

AFTRS alumni nominated this year is as follows:

Music Video:
- Melvin J. Montalban (MSA Directing, 2008) – The Best We Got

TV Comedy:
- Daniel Nettheim (Directing, 1994) – Mr and Mrs Murder – Series 1 Episode 5 "Lost Soul"

Short Film:
- Alex Ryan (Directing, 2009) – Ngurrumbang

TV Children’s:
- Daniel Nettheim (Directing, 1994) – Dance Academy – Series 3 Episode 12 "A Perfect Storm"
- Peter Carstairs (Directing, 2001) – Nowhere Boys – Series 1 Episode 7

TV Mini Series:
- Geoff Bennett (Directing, 1978) – The Packer-Murdoch Story – Episode 1

TV Drama Series:
- Adrian Russell-Wills (MSA Directing, 2002) – Redfern Now – Series 2 Episode 1 "Where the Heart Is"
- Peter Duncan (Scriptwriting, 1993) – Rake – Series 2 Episode 2
- Rachel Perkins (Producing, 1995) - Redfern Now – Series 2 Episode 2 "Starting Over"

Documentary Stand-Alone:
- Madeleine Hetherton (MSA Documentary, 2003) – The Surgery Ship

- Rowan Woods (Scriptwriting, 1993) – The Broken Shore

Documentary Feature:
- Kaye Harrison (Cinematography, 2000) – The Sunnyboy
- Rebecca Barry (Documentary, 2002) – I Am A Girl
- Sophia Turkiewicz (Directing, 1977) – Once my Mother

Feature Film:
- Ivan Sen (Directing, 1997) – Mystery Road

Congratulations all!

To view the full list of ADG nominations, visit the ADG website >

Share this
Facebook Twitter Google Email


The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.