ACT & NSW ACS Awards Winners

A man on a beach with a rope over his shoulder A still from 2013 AFTRS student film and ACS winner 'I Am Emmanuel'

Nov 12 2014

Congratulations to all the AFTRS Cinematography current students and alumni who won awards at this year's NSW & ACT Australian Cinematographers Society Awards an impressive 22 awards in total including 4 for work on AFTRS student films as follows:

Student Film:
  • GOLD: Benjamin Cotgrove - 2014 AFTRS student film Sailboats
  • SILVER: Ella Gibbons - 2013 AFTRS student film The Wonderful
  • BRONZE: Goldie Soetianto - 2014 AFTRS student film Sucre

Music Video:
  • GOLD: Ross Giardina - Missy Higgins, Shark Fin Blues
  • GOLD: Callan Green ACS - George Michael, Let Her Down Easy
  • SILVER: Hanley Zheng - I Will Find You, Lyon Apprentice

  • SILVER: Josh Flavell - David Jones, The Little Things

Web and New Media:
  • GOLD: Josh Flavell - David Jones We Are
  • SILVER: Velinda Wardell - ACS - Lady Obscure

  • GOLD: Murray Lui - Buckskin
  • BRONZE: Murray Lui - Art + Soul 2

Virtual Cinematography:
  • GOLD: Damian Smith - Little Darling
  • BRONZE: Damian Smith - Pink Lady Apple

Commercials Local/Regional:
  • SILVER: Josh Flavell - Australian Childhood Foundation

Fictional Drama Shorts:
  • GOLD: Callen Green ACS - Grey Bull
  • GOLD: Nicola Daley ACS - 2013 AFTRS student film I Am Emmanuel
  • SILVER: Ross Giardina - Raker
  • BRONZE: Callen Green ACS - Show Boy

Telefeatures, Series,TV Drama or Comedy:
  • GOLD: Jules O'Loughlin ACS - Redfern Now Series 2, Episode: Dogs of War
  • GOLD: Andrew Commis ACS - Devil's Playground
  • SILVER: Jules O'Loughlin ACS - Black Sail's Series 1, Episode 8: 'VIII'

  • BRONZE: Bonnie Elliott - These Final Hours

Visit the ACS website for a full list of winners >


Share this
Facebook Twitter Google Email


The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.