Palm Springs selects 4 AFTRS student films

A young Sudenese man screaming in frustration Still from 2013 AFTRS student film 'I Am Emmanuel'

Jun 5 2014

More recent festival news.  Five AFTRS student films from 2013 have been picked to screen at the prestigious Palm Springs International ShortFest this year as well as be featured in the Festival's Short Film Market.

Filmmakers will compete for $115,000 in prizes, including $21,000 in cash awards, in 21 categories.  First-place winners in four categories will automatically become eligible for consideration by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) for a possible Academy Award nomination.

The festival will run from June 17-23 this year in Palm Springs, California.

Congratulations to all...

I Am Emmanuel
Director: Genevieve Clay-Smith (MSA)
Producer: Eleanor Winkler (Producing & Screen Business)
Co-Producer: Isha Kamara
Writers: Genevieve Clay-Smith, Noel Franco (Foundation Diploma), Mandela Mathia
Co-Collaborator: Noel Franco
Cinematographer: Nicola Daley (Cinematography)
Steadicam: Andrew Johnson
Production Designer: Roslyn Durnford (Production Design)
Editor: Adrian Rostirolla (Editing)
Composer: Jonny Higgins

Writer and Director: Andrew Lee (Directing)
Co-writer: Jacob Holmes-Brown (Screenwriting)
Producer: Ashlea Dicks
Cinematographer: Goldie Soetianto (Cinematography)
Production Designer: Grace Brown (Production Design)
Editor: Florence Holmes (Editing)
Music: Grace Huie Robbins (Screen Music)
Costume Designer: Sarah Hoke Thomson

Like Breathing
Writer and Director: Liz Cooper (Directing)
Producer: Julia Kelly (Producing)
Cinematographer: Goldie Soetianto (Cinematography)
Production Designer: Grace Brown (Production Design)
Editor: Kelly Cameron (Editing)
Music: Grace Huie Robbins (Screen Music)
Costume Designer: Claudia Daly
Sound Supervisor: Declan Diacono (Sound)

All God's Creatures
Director: Brendon McDonall (Directing)
Writers: Jessica Paine (Screenwriting) and Brendon McDonall
Producer: Taylor Litton-Strain (Producing)
Cinematographer: Jack McAvoy (Cinematography)
Editors: Mary-Elizabeth Hutson (Editing) and Kelly Cameron (Editing)
Production Designer: Bethany Ryan (Production)
Location Sound: Gareth Evans (Sound)
Post Sound: Alex Francis (Sound)
Composer: Adam Moses (Screen Music)

Director: Shannon Murphy (Directing)
Writers: Shannon Murphy and Kim McCreanor (Screenwriting)
Producer: Sabrina Organo (Producing)
Cinematographer: Kent Marcus (Cinematography)
Editor: Florence Holmes (Editing)
Production Designer: Emma McEwan (Production Design)
Location Sound: Jean-Marc Serret (Sound)
Post Sound: Blake Guy (Sound)
Composer: Tiernan Cross (Screen Music) and Joel Geist (Screen Music)


Visit for more information.

Image source: I Am Emmanuel's Facebook page


The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.