2014 Creative Fellows announced

Two women and a man pose for the camera Creative Fellowship recipients Melissa Anastasi (left) and Amiel Courtin-Wilson (right) with AFTRS CEO Sandra Levy

Jun 16 2014

Now in its fifth year the AFTRS Creative Fellowship - designed to advance the work of creative voices in the screen arts and broadcast sector - provides funding for talented individuals or small collaborative groups to create a single distinctive and innovative work.

On Friday June 13, two AFTRS Creative Fellows were announced for 2014 and presented with their fellowships, each valued at $50,000. We are delighted to announce that the 2014 AFTRS Creative Fellows are: Amiel Courtin-Wilson and Melissa Anastasi.

Open to practitioners from a diverse range of creative backgrounds including, but not limited to, visual artists, filmmakers, screenwriters and directors the selection panel chose Amiel Courtin-Wilson who will use his AFTRS Creative Fellowship to write and direct a docu-drama about the legendary avant-garde pianist Cecil Taylor. Melissa Anastasi, a recent graduate of AFTRS, will write and direct Sleepwalking, an ambitious short film, which, through the story of a boy and his parents in an isolated landscape, explores questions about the world as we  perceive it, and the world that exists beyond our perception.

Based on the track record of stunning work created by previous AFTRS Creative Fellows including: Lynette Wallworth, Angelica Mesiti and Christopher Frey - we very much look forward to the outcome of Amiel's and Melissa's Fellowship projects.

Share this
Facebook Twitter Google Email


The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.