ADG award win: Best Student Film

A young boy siting by a river, looks upset Still from 2012 AFTRS student film 'By This River'

Apr 29 2014

This year as we have already shared that 4 out of the 4 films nominated in the 'Student Film' category at this 2014 ADG awards were AFTRS student films and at a gala event held last Friday Night By This River made in 2012 picked up the win.

Big congratulations to director Melissa Anastasi (Directing, 2010) and the entire student crew for the win.

- Writers: Melissa Anastasi & Christopher Squadrito (MSA, 2013)
- Producer: Rachel Argall (Screenwriting, 2013)
- Cinematographer: Seamus Mullen (Cinematography, 2012)
- Editor: Caitlin Spiller (Editing, 2012)
- Production Designer: Tanika Rainbow Pratt (Production Design, 2012)
- Location Sound: Jean-Marc Serret (Sound, 2012)
- Post Sound: Paddy Boylan (Sound, 2012)
- Composer: Melisande Wright (Screen Music, 2012)

Congratulations also must go to Erin Good (Directing, 2013) and the crew for 2013 AFTRS student film The Wonderful, Lucy Gaffy (Master of Screen Arts, 2012) and her crew of alumni for The Fence and Warwick Young (Master of Screen Arts, 2013) and his crew of alumni for Stuffed who were also nominated.

And congratulations also to the AFTRS alumni who also took home gold on Friday night...

- Best Direction in a Telemovie: Rowan Woods (Scriptwriting, 1993) for The Broken Shore

- Best Direction in a TV Drama Series: Rachel Perkins (Producing, 1995) for Redfern Now (Series 2, Episode 2, Starting Over)

- Feature Documentary Award: Sophia Turkiewicz (Directing, 1977) for Once My Mother (the film will be released theatrically in Australia in July - keep an eye out for it)

- Esben Storm Award for Best Direction in a Children's TV Program: Daniel Nettheim (Directing, 1994) for Dance Academy (Series 3, Episode 12, A Perfect Storm)

- Finders Award: Catriona McKenzie (Directing, 2000) for Satellite Boy

View the full list of winners on the ADG website >

Share this
Facebook Twitter Google Email


The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.