AFTRS Student film in Competition: SFF

A young couple hold each other in a dance hall Still from 2013 AFTRS student film 'Stuffed'

May 9 2014

The full 2014 Sydney Film Festival program was announced this week revealing the 10 short films in the running for their prestigious Dendy Awards for Australian Short Films.  Congratulations to recent AFTRS graduate Warwick Young (Master of Screen Arts, 2013), for his 2013 AFTRS student film Stuffed has been selected for competition in this category.

The Dendy Awards for Australian Short Films program is screening twice across the festival period: Sat June 14 and Sunday June 15.  Visit SFF website for session and booking information

Winners of the Dendy Awards are also Academy Award-eligible... all the best to Warwick and his team:


Director & writer: Warwick Young (MSA, 2013)

Producer: Rachel Argall (Screenwriting, 2013)

Cinematography: Jeremy Rouse

Editor: Dany Cooper

Production Designer: Ella Carey (Production Design, 2012)

Location Sound: Gareth Evans (Sound, 2012)

Post Sound: Diego Ruiz (Sound, 2011)

Composer: Matthew Rudduck (Screen Music, 2012)

Also screening at the Festival (out of competition) is 2013 AFTRS student film Embrace directed by George-Alex Nagle (Directing, 2013).  His short film will screen before Georgian feature Blind Dates on Saturday June 7 and Tuesday June 10. 

Congratulations to George-Alex and all of the AFTRS crew who worked on the film.

Director: George-Alex Nagle (Directing, 2013)

Writer: Huna Amweero (Screenwriting, 2013)

Producer: Chloe Lawrence-Hartcher (Producing, 2013)

Cinematographer: Tom Jefferson (Cinematography, 2013)

Editor: Michael Drake (Editing, 2013)

Production Designer: Teresa Meoli (Production Design, 2013)
Location Sound: Jean-Marc Serret (Sound, 2012)

Post Sound: Peter Mulheron (Sound, 2011)

Composer: Freya Berkhout (Screen Music, 2013)

Visit SFF’s website for more information.

Share this
Facebook Twitter Google Email


The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.