Dec 10 2015

At the 2015 AFI AACTA awards the latest installment of the Mad Max series Fury Road took home the 'Best Film' award. Cate Blanchett was awarded the Longford Lyel Award for outstanding contribution to the Australian screen industry and The Dressmaker produced by Sue Maslin, directed/co-written by Jocelyn Moorhouse and co-written by PJ Hogan (all AFTRS alumni)  picked up the People's Choice Award.

Overall nine AFTRS alumni received honours at the 5th AACTAs:
  • Shawn Seet: Best Direction in a Television Drama or Comedy forPeter Allen - Not the Boy Next Door, Episode 2
  • Liam Price with Des Kenneally, Robert MacKenzie, Jed Dodge, Justine Angus, John Simpson): Best Sound in Television for Deadline Gallipoli Part 1
  • Antony Partos:Best Original Score for Sherpa
  • Robert Connolly and Steve Worland: Best Original Screenplay for Paper Planes
  • Margaret Sixel: Best Editing for Mad Max: Fury Road
  • Sue Maslin: People's Choice Award for Favourite Australian Film for The Dressmaker

  • Tony Ayres and Louise Fox: Best Television Drama Series for Glitch


The Subscription Television 20th Anniversary Award for Best Drama which went to Love My Way and was accepted by producer/creator Claudia Karvan featured the work of the following AFTRS alumni: Series directors Shirley Barrett, Geoff Bennett; Series writers: Jacquelin Perske (also co-creator and co-producer), Fiona Seres, Tony McNamara and Alison Tilson.

Congratulations to all of the 2015 AACTA winners.


Image Attribution: Mad Max: Fury Road. Image sourced from forbes.com.



Share this
Facebook Twitter Google Email


The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.