Student films win at ACS Awards

May 4 2015

Outstanding news just in from the 44th National ACS Awards held over the weekend at MONA in Hobart...

The School is delighted to share wins for AFTRS cinematography alumni across six categories including alumnus Martha Ansara being inducted into the ACS Hall of Fame...

Such is the volume and competitiveness of the 1700 members who make up the society, awards are judged first at the state level and then only the gold winners can go through to the national level.  This result shows that AFTRS has a significant influence on image making in Australia...

Category 2 - Student Cinematography:
Gold Award: Benjamin Cotgrove: Sailboats

Category 5  Music Clips:
Gold Tripod - Callan Green ACS: George Michael - Let Her Down Easy

Category 14  Virtual Cinematography:
Gold Tripod - Damian Smith: Little Darling

Category 15 - Commercials - Local/Regional:
Gold Tripod - Adam Howden: Lynx – Red Cross

Category 16 - Commercials – National/International
Gold Tripod - James Brown: SBS Radio – Feel at Home

Category 19 - Telefeatures, Mini Series, TV Drama or Comedy:
Award of Distinction - Andrew Commis ACS: Devil's Playground

Inducted into the ACS Hall of Fame:
Hall of Fame 2015: Martha Ansara

More exciting news to share... AFTRS documentary alumnus Blue Lucine is the first recipient of the Canon Australia – ACS National Initiative, which will provide Canon camera equipment to her and her production. Without this generous assistance from Canon, Blue may not have been able to get her social documentary off the ground. She is also fortunate to have experienced ACS cinematographer Helen Barrow on board as mentor and Producer.

Congratulations Blue, Martha and 2015 ACS category winners!

Image attribution: Video from the ACS awards

Share this
Facebook Twitter Google Email


The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.