15 ADG Nominations for this year's awards

AFTRS ADG noms A still from telemovie 'Carlotta' directed by AFTRS alumnus Samantha Lang

Apr 9 2015

Nominees for the 2015 Australian Directors Guild Awards have been announced. Celebrating the outstanding work of Australian screen directors over the past year, the School is excited to see an impressive 15 AFTRS alumni be nominated for their work across film and television.

The golden era in Australian television continues with Samantha Lang nominated for Carlotta in the telemovie category and Tony Krawitz nominated in the TV Mini Series category for Devil's Playground.

The TV Drama Series is dominated by AFTRS alumni Shawn Seet for The Code, Geoff Bennett  for Love Child and Rowan Woods for Rake.

The School is also delighted to see two AFTRS MSA student films be nominated in the Student Film category, Genevieve Clay-Smith's I Am Emmanuel and Vanessa Gazy's Foal.

Best of luck to all those nominated....


  • Telemovie: 
Samantha Lang (Directing) - Carlotta
  • TV Mini Series:
Tony Krawitz (Directing) - Devil's Playground / Ep5
  • TV Children’s: 

Sally Browning (Producing) & Gary Doust - Blue Zoo
  • Documentary Stand-Alone: Kelrick Martin (Documentary) - Prison Songs
  • Short Film:
 Beth Armstrong (Directing) - You Cut, I Choose; 
Melissa Anastasi (Directing) - This Feral Life
; Adrian Chiarella (Editing) - Touch
  • Student Film:
 Nora Niasari (Documentary) - The Phoenix (Simorgh)
; Genevieve Clay-Smith (MSA) - 2013 AFTRS student film I Am Emmanuel
; Vanessa Gazy (MSA) - 2013 AFTRS student film Foal
  • TV Drama Series: Shawn Seet (Editing) - The Code / S1 Ep4
; Geoff Bennett (Directing)– Love Child / S1 Ep5
; Rowan Woods (Scriptwriting) - Rake / S3 Ep5

  • Documentary Feature: 
Amin Palangi (Screenwriting) - Love Marriage in Kabul

  • Feature Film: 
Robert Connolly (Producing) - Paper Planes

For a full list of nominees, go to ADG's website >

The Award winners will be announced on Friday, May 8 at an Awards Ceremony at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins. Tickets to the 2015 Awards Ceremony & Dinner are available here.

Image attribution: Production still from Carlotta. Image sourced from theconversation.com.

Share this
Facebook Twitter Google Email


The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.