2015 Fellowship Recipients Announced

AFTRS Creative Fellowship Announcement 2015 Fellowship recipients: Del Kathryn Barton, Sari Braithwaite and Rachel Perkins

Jun 12 2015

The recipients of the 2015 AFTRS Creative Fellowships were announced earlier this week at the Herman Miller Lounge at the Sydney Film Festival Hub and AFTRS is delighted to announce the three recipients:

  • Visual artist Del Kathryn Barton
  • Emerging filmmaker Sari Braithwaite
  •  AFTRS alumnus Rachel Perkins

    who will all be supported to create bold and distinctive new works.

Now in its sixth year, the AFTRS Creative Fellowships provide funding and support for talented individuals or small collaborative groups from a diverse range of creative backgrounds including visual artists, filmmakers, screenwriters and directors.

The grant is supplemented with additional support that includes access to the School’s resources and state-of-the-art production facilities as well as its teaching staff to encourage innovative creative exploration and original work.

Del Kathryn Barton will use her fellowship to create RED, a dual-screen work that will delve into themes of passion, sex and death, drawing on the legends and symbolism of the female red-back spider.

Rachel Perkins the recipient of the Indigenous Creative Fellowship, will work within the storytelling traditions of elder Arrente women in Alice Springs, capturing their Altyerre, (dreaming), which has been passed down through generations through songs. These stories, referred to as songlines, are on the verge of extinction and Rachel will capture this important project on screen.

Sari Braithwaite will use her fellowship to create a provocative, experimental artwork, The A To Z of Censorship, that tells the untold and unseen story of Australian film censorship. She will splice together curated clips of never-before-seen images deleted from films by the Australian Government censor between 1940-1970, offering an insight into the anxieties of the Australian psyche over three decades.

Congratulations all.

Image attribution: Photo by Nic Walker. Image sourced from smh.com.au


Share this
Facebook Twitter Google Email


The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.