AFTRS Hot Shots Greenlit

AFTRS Hot Shots Still from 2014 student film 'Blanca' produced by Liam Heyen

Jun 11 2015

Screen Australia has announced six filmmaking teams to share $450,000 of Screen Australia funding as part of the Hot Shots: Short Fiction Funding initiative specifically to enhance and extend their creative storytelling and production skills. 

The School is delighted to see an AFTRS alumnus on three of those successful teams! Congratulations to all and especially the following:

  • The Deep End, about a 16-year-old Canberra girl, Emily, looking for authentic love in her bleak world, from producers Belinda Mravicic and Rose Ricketson and writer/director Clare Young. AFTRS alumnus Jane Campion (Directing) will executive produce and mentor the team.

  • Ghostbear, an animated family story about a polar bear cub wandering the Arctic in search of his place in the world, from producers Justine Kerrigan (Cinematography) and Lincoln Wogan, and writer/director Paul McDermott.

  • Problem Play tells the story of an actress who questions her identity whilst rehearsing for a production of Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night, from producers Lauren Edwards and Liam Heyen (Producing), and writer/director Matthew Moore.

The Hot Shots fund provides an opportunity for up-and-coming filmmakers to work with industry professionals and gain invaluable practical experience. The program plays a significant role in developing and establishing strong and distinctive creative voices in the industry and assists filmmakers eager to transition from short to long-form projects.

Successful recipients will have the opportunity to participate in Hot Shops, a series of industry-led workshops and seminars that immerse writers, directors and producers in a craft-based learning environment to further their filmmaking skills. The two-day Hot Shops program will connect teams with carefully selected mentors to workshop their creative processes.

Read more on Screen Australia's website >

Image attribution: Still from AFTRS student film Blanca (2014).


Share this
Facebook Twitter Google Email


The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.