New AFTRS CEO Announced

AFTRS CEO Announcement AFTRS new CEO: Neil Peplow

Jul 6 2015

Neil Peplow will be the new CEO of AFTRS the Australian Government announced today. It is expected that Mr Peplow will take up his appointment in late September.

Mr Peplow is currently chief operating officer of the Met Film School in West London's Ealing Studios where he is responsible for the oversight of
all education and training programs.

Previously Neil was Director of Screen at AFTRS from 2011 to 2014, before returning to the UK for family reasons. During his time at AFTRS Neil was instrumental in the development of the new AFTRS curriculum and developed strong relationships with the Australian screen and broadcast sector.

Mr Peplow was selected after an exhaustive process conducted by the AFTRS Council with the global search firm Amrop Challis & Company.

Ms Ann Browne, current Director Corporate Services and Chief Financial Officer of AFTRS, will act in the position of CEO until Mr Peplow starts in the role.

AFTRS Chair, Professor Julianne Schultz AM, said that the AFTRS Council regards Mr Peplow as a highly effective, creative and analytical manager who brings deep knowledge of the changing screen world, a commitment to education and cultural engagement.

“Council is confident that Neil is the ideal person to build on the legacy Sandra Levy has created at AFTRS and to ensure that the School remains a world leading institution,” Professor Schultz said.

Professor Schultz thanked former CEO Sandra Levy AO for her tremendous energy and commitment during her eight years as CEO. 

“Sandra led a period of great change at AFTRS including the relocation to Moore Park, the expansion of Open Program, the growth of the Indigenous Program, and the redevelopment of the educational offerings. She has left the School in a very strong position, on which Neil Peplow will now be able to build,” she said.

View Neil Peplow's AFTRS bio


Image attribution: Photo by Nicole Paterson for AFTRS

Share this
Facebook Twitter Google Email


The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.