8 student films up for AFI/AACTA #SOCIALSHORTS

Jul 23 2015

AFI | AACTA #SocialShorts was launched in 2014 as an opportunity for emerging Australian filmmakers to have their work seen, shared and acknowledged by film enthusiasts and the film industry.

In addition to providing unique access to great Australian short films, #SocialShorts encourages viewers to share these via social media, introducing new audiences to Australian short films and filmmaking talent, and acknowledging the public thirst for content in this phase of the screen era.

Now in its second year, AFTRS is delighted to see the three categories bursting with AFTRS student films!

Voting in each category is open to the public for one week, with the winner for each announced at the start of the following week. To vote, simply watch and like on the #SocialShorts website, then share your favourite short films on social media – the short film with the most likes in each category wins.  By sharing, you are helping to raise the profile of Australia’s emerging filmmaking talent.

Congratulations and good luck to all AFTRS student films listed below...

COMEDY CATEGORY (voting now open):
  • Kharisma (2013): Shannon Murphy (Directing), Kim McCreanor (Screenwriting), Sabrina Organo (Producing), Kent Marcus (Cinematography), Florence Holmes (Editing), Emma McEwan (Production Design), Jean-Marc Serret (Sound), Blake Guy (Sound), Tiernan Cross (Screen Music) and Joel Geist (Screen Music)
  • Pull (2014): Christopher Stollery (Directing), Hilary Crombie (Cinematography), Jackson Buhck (Editing), Lauren Miller (Production Design), Callum Hedemann (Sound), Adam Green (Screen Music)
  • Stuffed (2013): Warwick Young (MSA), Rachel Argall (Screenwriting), Ella Carey (Production Design), Gareth Evans (Sound), Diego Ruiz (Sound), Matthew Rudduck (Screen Music)

DRAMA CATEGORY (voting opens Monday July 27):
  • Embrace (2013): George-Alex Nagle (Directing), Huna Amweero (Screenwriting), Chloe Lawrence-Hartcher (Producing), Tom Jefferson (Cinematography), Michael Drake (Editing), Teresa Meoli (Production Design), Jean-Marc Serret (Sound), Peter Mulheron (Sound), Freya Berkhout (Screen Music)
  • I Am Emmanuel (2013): Genevieve Clay-Smith (MSA), Eleanor Winkler (Producing & Screen Business), Noel Franco (Foundation Diploma), Nicola Daley (Cinematography), Roslyn Durnford (Production Design), Adrian Rostirolla (Editing)
  • Like Breathing (2013): Liz Cooper (Directing), Julia Kelly (Producing), Goldie Soetianto (Cinematography), Grace Brown (Production Design), Kelly Cameron (Editing), Grace Huie Robbins (Screen Music), Declan Diacono (Sound)

INDEPENDENT CATEGORY (voting opens August 3):
  • Eric (2013): Andrew Lee (Directing), Jacob Holmes-Brown (Screenwriting), Goldie Soetianto (Cinematography), Grace Brown (Production Design), Florence Holmes (Editing), Grace Huie Robbins (Screen Music)
  • Object (2013): George-Alex Nagle (Directing), Sabrina Organo (Producing), Dane Howell (Cinematography), Bonnie Fan (Editing), Teresa Meoli (Production Design), Jean-Marc Serret (Sound)

Visit #SocialShort's website for more information >

Image attribution: Production still from AFTRS student film Embrace (2013).
Photo by Stephen Godfrey.

Share this
Facebook Twitter Google Email


The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.