Alumni Feature Debut

Mar 1 2016

Fresh from the film festival circuit, Crushed is an award-winning feature film written/directed by AFTRS directing alumna Megan Riakos (2009 & 2010) is set for its theatrical release via cinema on demand nationally from March 15.

The feature directorial debut for Megan Crushed has screened at the Montreal World Film Festival, Miami International Film Festival and the Nappa Valley Film Festival and picked up awards at the Fantastic Planet Film Festival for ‘Best Australian Director’ and ‘Best Thriller Feature Film’ and ‘Best Lead Actress’ at the Buffalo Dreams Fantastic Film Festival.

A mystery-thriller set in the Mudgee wine region of Australia Crushed is a testament to the professional connections AFTRS students  create make while they study at the School, with the majority of roles filled by AFTRS alumni across the classes of 2009 and 2010.

AFTRS alumni key creatives along with Megan included: Michael Steel  DOP (2010), Anil Griffin Editor (2010) Aaron Kenny (2010) Cate Rann Production Designer (2010), Robbie Miles Producer (2009) and  number of other former students  were part of the crew including:

Ben Mathews (2010) David Joshua Ford (2010) Ash Fairfield (2010) Danielle Boesenberg (2010) Paul Doust (2010) Joel Froome (2009) Sian Bates (2011) Mila Gisbert (2011)

Crushed will premiere at The Ritz Cinema in Sydney on March 15 before it screens nationally:


  • Sydney: The Ritz Cinema - 15 March
  • South West Rocks : South West Roxy Cinema - 20 March
  • Central Coast:  Cinema Paradiso Ettalong - 24 March
  • Temora: Temora Town Hall Theatre - 29 March
  • Cootamundra:  The Arts Centre Cootamundra - 31 March
  • Blue Mountains: 17 April
  • Mudgee:  Mudgee Town Hall Cinema - 23 April


  • Melbourne: ACMI - 17 March


  • Adelaide : Mercury Cinema - 16 March


  • Perth: Event Cinemas Innaloo Megaplex - 11 April


  • Brisbane : Portside Dendy - 6 April

Tickets can be purchased for all screenings through Fan-Force

Image attribution: Sourced from

Share this
Facebook Twitter Google Email


The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.