2016 ADG Nominations

Apr 15 2016

2016 ADG Awards Nominees Revealed

The Australian Directors Guild announced the nominations for the 2016 awards this week which acknowledge outstanding accomplishments of Australian screen directors over the past year and AFTRS is delighted to see two out of the four nominees in the 'Best Direction in a Feature Film' category are the work of AFTRS alumni.

With AFTRS graduates garnering 20 nominations across almost all categories (listed below) we look forward to the awards evening taking place in Melbourne on May 6.

Congratulations to the following AFTRS graduates nominated in the following categories:

Best Direction in a Feature Film

  • Sue Brooks for Looking for Grace
  • Jocelyn Moorhouse for The Dressmaker

Documentary Feature

  • Nick Bird (2010) & Eleanor Sharpe (2011) - Remembering The Man

TV Mini Series

  • Shawn Seet (1992) for Peter Allen - Not The Boy Next Door Ep1
  • Kriv Stenders for The Principal Ep 1


  • Jennifer Leacy for Mary, The Making of a Princess 
  • Rachel Perkins for Redfern Now: Promise Me


  • Peter Carstairs (2001) for Ultrasound

Original Online Project

  • Kacie Anning (2011) Fragments of Friday (Season 2)
  • Nathan Earl (2005) - Plonk
  • Christopher Nelius (2002) Unstoppable

Music Video

  • Peter Carstairs (2001) & Curtis Hill for Hallelujah (The Rubens)

Documentary Stand Alone

  • Sophie Wiesner (2012) for Call Me Dad
  • Darlene Johnson (1997) for The Redfern Story

TV Drama Series

  • Shawn Seet - Love Child / S2, Ep3

Short Film

  • Darlene Johnson (1997) for Bluey

TV Comedy

  • Dena Curtis (2002) for 8MMM Aboriginal Radio / Ep2

Children's TV Drama

  • Tony Krawitz (2000) for Ready For This / Ep13


Image attribution: Still from Bluey. Written/Directed by Darlene Johnson.
pic sourced from miff.com.au
Last updated April 15.2016



The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.