May 9 2016

The 2016 ADG awards were held on Friday May 6 in Melbourne to mark and celebrate outstanding achievements and contributions by Australian Directors in the fields of film, television and new media.

The annual Australian Directors Guild Awards are the only peer-judged awards for directors spanning 17 categories encompassing feature film, documentary, television, TVC, short film, animation, digital media and music video.

AFTRS congratulates all 2016 winners across all 17 categories and celebrates the achievements of the following five alumni on their well-earned awards:

  • Rachel Perkins; Best Direction in a Telemovie for Redfern Now
  • Kacie Anning; Best Direction in an Original Online Project for Fragments of Friday Series 2
  • Darlene Johnson; Best Direction in a Short Film for Bluey
  • Shawn Seet; Best Direction in a TV Mini Series for Peter Allen - Not the Boy Next Door Episode 1
  • Sue Brooks; ADG/DGA Finders Award for Looking for Grace.


Image attribution: still from Kacie Anning's webisode series 'Fragments of Friday' sourced from



The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.