AFTRS Alumni Nominated for SPA Awards 2016

Nov 17 2016

The Screen Producer Australia (SPA) Awards 2016 are being held on Thursday 17 November. It’s no surprise that the Nominees for the night feature over 20 AFTRS Alumni. Tony Ayres has been nominated on 3 different projects, and Jo Porter has been nominated in 2 different projects. All AFTRS nominees include:

Aline Jacques - Afghanistan: Inside Australia’s War
Rebecca Barry, Madeleine Hetherton, Sophie Wiesner – Call Me Dad
Marcus Gillezeau – Motorkite Dreaming
Nickolas Bird, Eleanor Sharpe – Remebering the Man
Ben Davies – Bondi Rescue
Nahan Anderson – VR Noir: A Day Before the Night Start VR
Martha Coleman – Kill Your Dinner
Peter Magdas – The Trophy Thief
Darren Dale – Ready For This
Tony Ayres, Amanda Higgs – Barracuda
Tony Ayres – Wanted
Tony Ayres – Nowhere Boys: The Book of Shadows
Jo Porter – Mary: Making of a Princess
Jo Porter – Wentworth – series 4
Penny Chapman – Secret City
Chloe Rickard – No Activity
Julie Eckersley, Tony Ayres, Debbie Lee – The Family Law
Peter Duncan – Rake – Season 4
David Redman – Spin Out
Sue Maslin – The Dressmaker

Good luck to everyone!

You can find all the nominees for the night with more information here:


The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.