Alumni Success

Jun 17 2016

Congratulations to AFTRS alumni Alex Murawski (Graduate Diploma: Directing, 2010) and Alex Ryan (Graduate Diploma: Directing (Fiction & Non Fiction, 2009) Who were announced this week as one of the four recipients of the inaugural Lexus Australia Short Film Fellowship presented by Sydney Film Festival and Lexus Australia.

The Lexus Australia Short Film Fellowship is the largest cash fellowship for short film in Australia, providing a new platform to support future generations of emerging filmmakers. 

Alex Murawski, Alex Ryan and the other two filmmakers Anya Beyersdorf and Brooke Goldfinch will each receive a $50,000 grant to make a short film, which will then premiere at next year’s Sydney Film Festival.

The fellows were selected from a shortlist of 21 emerging filmmakers nominated by The Weinstein Company from more than 355 Australians who last year entered the global Lexus Short Film Series.   


Image: Via the Sydney Film Festival
Last update: June 17


The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.