Festival Circuit Success

Jun 22 2016

We’re pleased to bring you some fantastic news from the festival circuit as AFTRS alumni and current students have success both at home and abroad.


On the domestic circuit festival favourite Driftwood Dustmites, directed by Malina Mackiewicz (Graduate Diploma Directing 2014) and produced by Jessica Giacco (Graduate Diploma in Producing 2014) winning ‘Best Achievement In Cinematography’ which was awarded to cinematographer Burak Oguz Saguner (Graduate Diploma Cinematography 2014) at the Academy-qualifying St Kilda Film Festival. The film was also nominated for the ‘Crystal Bear Award’ which recognizes young filmmakers, at Berlinale earlier in 2015. 

In a show of the current talent pool already emerging within AFTRS, two current students from the new Bachelor of Arts program were recently selected for Perth’s Revelation International Film Festival. Ramon Samson’s I Remember You and Andre Shannon’s Vengeance will screen at the Festival in July.


On the international circuit AFTRS alumni are faring just as well. Amber McBride (Graduate Diploma in Documentary, 2014) took out the Critic’s Award for Best Short Documentary at the Sebastopol Documentary Film Festival in the US for her student film At Midnight while Vedrana Music’s (Graduate Diploma in Directing, 2014) A Boy Called Su has been selected from over 3000 entries for a special showcase screening at Guanajuato International Film Festival, Mexico. Master of Screen Arts graduate Laura Dudgeon (2014) will premiere her new film Happy in the US this month. Happy has been selected for two Academy-qualifying film festivals, Palm Springs International ShortFest and Flickers’ Rhode Island International Film Festival. 


Sydney Film Festival 

AFTRS alumni also won at the Sydney Film Festival with Spice Sisters winning Best Short Screenplay produced by Lyn Norfor (Graduate Diploma in Screen Business, 2010).

This follows the news that Alex Murawski (Graduate Diploma in Directing, 2010) and Alex Ryan (Graduate Diploma: Directing Fiction & Non Fiction, 2009) were two of the four recipients of the inaugural Lexus Australia Short Film Fellowship presented by Sydney Film Festival and Lexus Australia.   

The latest feature from AFTRS Alumnus Ivan Sen (BA Film & TV Directing, 1997) Goldstone opened the festival and a significant number of films from AFTRS graduates also screened over the ten days: 

  • Black Chook
    Director - Dylan River (AFTRS AV Myer Indigenous Award for Exceptional Talent - Dec 2014)
    Cinematographer - (Warwick Thornton Bachelor of Arts (Film & Television) Cinematography - 1995)
  • Nathan Loves Ricky Martin 
    Director - Steven Arriagada (Graduate Certificate: Directing – 2010) 
    Executive Producer & Editor - Andrew Brinsmead (Graduate Diploma in Producing & Screen Business Directing – 2012; Master of Arts (Film & Television) Editing – 2000) 
  • Eaglehawk
    Director - Shannon Murphy (Graduate Diploma in Directing - 2013)
  • The Spa
    Director - Will Goodfellow (Master of Screen Arts - 2014; Graduate Diploma: Screenwriting - 2009; Graduate Certificate: Screen Drama - Directing & Screenwriting - 2008)  
    Producer - Lucy Gaffy (Master of Screen Arts - 2012; Graduate Diploma: Directing (Fiction & Non Fiction) - 2009; Graduate Certificate: Screen Drama - Directing & Screenwriting - 2008)
  • Beast 
    Director - Sam McKeith (Graduate Diploma in Screenwriting - 2011)
    Director - Tom McKeith (Graduate Diploma: Directing (Fiction & Non-Fiction) - 2010)
  • Teenage Kicks 
    Director - Craig Boreham (Graduate Diploma: Directing (Fiction & Non Fiction) - 2009; Graduate Certificate: Screen Drama - Directing & Screenwriting - 2008) 
  • The Boys 
    Director - Rowan Woods (Specialist Extension Certificate Scriptwriting - 1993), screenwriter Robert Connolly (Bachelor of Arts Producing - 1994)
    Editor - Nick Meyers (Specialist Extension Certificate Editing - 1991)  
  • Baxter And Me 
    Director - Gillian Leahy (Diploma Directing - 1977)
    Producer - Sue Brooks (Bachelor of Arts (Film & Television) Directing - 1984)
    Editor - Denise Haslem (Diploma Editing - 1979)
    Cinematographer - Steven Macdonald (Specialist Extension Course Certificate Cinematography - 1994) 
  • Constance on the Edge 
    Editor - Denise Haslem (Diploma Editing - 1979) 
  • Girl Asleep 
    Editor - Karryn de Cinque (Master of Arts (Film & Television) Editing - 1998) 

  • Night Parrot Stories 
    Director & Cinematographer - Robert Nugent (Master of Arts (Film & Television) Documentary - 2002)


Image: Still from AFTRS Student Film: Happy
Last update: June 21


The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.