The Director's Chair

Oct 17 2016

AFTRS and the Australian Director’s Guild Launch The Directors Chair

Directors of The Kettering Incident (pictured) Rowan Woods and Tony Kravitz will host the first Directors Chair. 

Australian Directors Guild (ADG), in partnership with AFTRS, has launched The Directors Chair, a new masterclass and workshop program for directors, presented by Screen Director, the ADG's online publication.

The Directors Chair will be a monthly series of events, beginning on October 27, which focus on the art and craft of directing. The series will initially be held in Sydney but will expand to other states over the next year.

The first masterclass -  “Is Television the New Cinema?”  - will be with directors Rowan Woods and Tony Krawitz. Rowan and Tony will talk in detail about the creation of the outstanding recent TV series The Kettering Incident. 

Chaired by ADG President Samantha Lang, Rowan and Tony will discuss their approach to shooting, design and casting with examples of the series being shown during the session to provide concrete examples of how they achieved their “feature film on television”.

“This masterclass with Rowan and Tony is a great way to kick off The Directors Chair.  It’s a rare opportunity for fellow directors and other industry creatives to be part of an immersive discussion around the art and craft of television direction and the ADG is proud to able to present a series of these quality events over the coming year,” said Kingston Anderson, ADG Executive Director.

AFTRS CEO Neil Peplow said:  “This series of events will make a valuable contribution to the professional development of Australian directors, both emerging and established.  AFTRS is delighted to partner with the ADG on this important initiative.”

This highly informative session will be held at AFTRS. Entry cost $10 (by donation) or free to ADG Members and AFTRS students.


The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.