2017 ASTRA Graduate Program Recipients

ASTRA Graduate Program The four recipients of the 2017 ASTRA Graduate Program.

Nov 13 2017

ASTRA and AFTRS have today announced the four recipients of the 2017 ASTRA Graduate Program.

This industry partnership between ASTRA and AFTRS, Australia’s leading screen and broadcast school, provides the selected graduates with a significant career development opportunity in the highly competitive screen industry.

This on-going commitment by ASTRA and its subscription TV member broadcasters to fostering creativity and nurturing talent will see four 2017 graduates of the AFTRS Bachelor of Arts: Screen degree offered paid three-month internships with the Disney, Discovery, Foxtel and TVSN channels.

Juliette Beck will join Disney, Michail Mathioudakis will join Discovery, Archie Oxenbould will join Foxtel and Lachlan Brennan will join TVSN.

Raymond Padora, ASTRA Graduate Program Manager, said: “This highly sought-after program ensures emerging talent continues to access Australia’s dynamic subscription television industry. The difficulty of deciding who to award graduate positions to is a testament to AFTRS, its teachers and staff and its modern approach to education.”

Dr Ian Lang, AFTRS Director of Curriculum and Registrar, said: “AFTRS is keenly focussed on ensuring our graduates are ‘job ready’. We work closely with industry to ensure our curriculum meets the needs of an ever-changing screen and broadcast sector and with partners such as ASTRA to provide a graduate program for our students that creates genuine professional development and employment opportunities.”

Starting in February 2018, each graduate will work for 13 weeks with the specified channel, the positions are across a variety of areas including marketing, programming, acquisitions, production and broadcasting.


The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.