AFTRS Foyer. Photograph Alina Gozin'a.

Please note only one discount type is available per course, excluding Summer School discounts as outlined on those course pages

Early Bird Discount

Many (but not all) AFTRS Open courses offer a 10% early bird discount for applicants paying 28 days in advance of course commencement.

Industry and Partner Memberships

Current members of the following industry associations are entitled to a 10% Industry discount on all AFTRS Open Short Courses.  Valid membership numbers for the selected organisation are required at time of enrolment.

Australian Cinematographers Society

Australian Directors Guild

Australian Guild of Screen Composers

Australian Screen Editors Guild

Australian Screen Sound Guild

Australian Writers Guild

Media Entertainment and Arts Alliance

Screen Producers Association of Australia

Women in Film & Television


Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA)

AFTRS Staff and Student Discount

AFTRS staff (fixed term and ongoing) and AFTRS students (Award and Specialist), and any of their immediate family members, are entitled to a 20% discount on all AFTRS Open Short Courses.

State Funded Applicants

Applicants whose course fees are paid for by a state funding agency are entitled to a 10% discount on all AFTRS Open Short Courses. Applications must be accompanied by supporting documents from state funding bodies.

Senior Citizens

Senior citizens with a valid seniors card are entitled to a 20% discount on selected AFTRS Open Short Courses. Where applicable this discount is highlighted on the relevant course detail page on this website.

Multiple Course Bookings

Applicants paying for three or more course places at the same time are entitled to a discount of 10% on full fee course cost for each of the multiple booking. In the event of a refund being requested for any of these courses, other than due to AFTRS’ cancellation of the course, the discount will no longer apply, and the discounted amount for the remaining courses will be deducted from any refund.


The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.