AFTRS Open Summer School. Photograph Johnny Nicolaidis.


How to book an AFTRS Open short course

AFTRS Open short courses are delivered throughout the year and are open to everyone.

Details of all our courses are available online, however if you require any specific information please call our friendly AFTRS Open team on 1300 065 281. Our office is open from 9am - 5pm, Monday to Friday; you can also email us at


Who can take a short course

AFTRS Open short courses are open to everyone, this includes the following:

  • Australian and New Zealand citizens, Australian permanent residents and holders of an Australian permanent resident humanitarian visa.
  • Tourists and visitors to Australia are generally entitled to undertake an AFTRS Open short course as long as it does not breach any visa conditions. For more information contact the Australian Department of Immigration and Citizenship or your migration agent.
  • People with a student visa may be eligible to apply to an AFTRS Open course - in addition to their ‘main’ course of study being undertaken at another educational institution.


Under 18 Years

If you are under 18 you will need to download our Under 18 enrolment information and return the relevant Under 18 Consent Form signed by your parent/legal guardian or carer. This consent form must be received by AFTRS Open prior to course commencement. Please see Under 18 Enrolment Information for details and to download the consent forms.


Enroling in an AFTRS short course is easy, either enrol online by clicking on the enrolment button on the course detail page and follow the instructions, or call us on 1300 065 281. Online payments are by credit card only.



Pay online with Visa or Mastercard.
For all other types of payments call our friendly Open team on 1300 065 281



The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.