Governance: Council

Under the Australian Film, Television and Radio School Act 1973 (the Act), the School is governed by a Council responsible to the Federal Parliament through the Minister for the Arts.


The Council is responsible for strategic direction, organisational development, succession planning and resource allocation, including budget control and risk.

The Council ensures that:

  • policies on key issues are in place and are appropriate
  • risks facing AFTRS are identified, assessed and properly managed
  • AFTRS complies with applicable laws. 


There are nine members of the Council, specified under the Act:

  • three members appointed by the Governor-General
  • three members appointed from convocation by the Council
  • the Chief Executive Officer, ex officio
  • one staff member elected by staff each year
  • one student member elected by students each year.

Members represent the interests of the School and the entertainment industry, contributing expertise in a range of areas, including education, law, film and television production, commercial activities and management.

The Governor-General appoints the Chair. The Council elects the Deputy Chair. These positions may not be held by ex officio, staff or student members.

Members appointed by the Governor-General, and those appointed from convocation, hold office for a term of up to three years. Staff and student members hold office for one year and cease to be members if they leave AFTRS.



The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.