Darren Dale

Deputy Chair

Darren Dale is a company director and producer with Blackfella Films, one of Australia’s leading film and television production companies.

In 2008 Darren, together with Blackfella Films’ Rachel Perkins, produced the landmark history series First Australians, receiving many accolades including AFI, TV Week Logie, AWGIE and Director's Guild Awards.

In 2011, he produced the theatrically released feature documentary The Tall Man for SBS which received the inaugural Walkley Award for Documentary, and was selected for the Toronto International Film Festival and the International Documentary Film Festival Amsterdam.

Darren, along with Miranda Dear, produced the ABC telemovie Mabo and the series and telemovie Redfern Now, the first drama on Australian television written, produced and directed by Indigenous Australians. Redfern Now was developed in collaboration with Emmy Award-winning UK screenwriter Jimmy McGovern. It won the 2014 AACTA Award for Best Television Drama Series and consecutive TV Week Logies in 2013 and 2014 for Most Outstanding Drama Series.

In 2014 Darren produced First Contact, a three- part documentary series for SBS which received the 2015 TV Week Logie for Most Outstanding Factual Program. Darren was Executive Producer on the ABC3 teen drama series Ready for This, winner of the 2015 AACTA Award for Best Children’s Television Series and the 2016 TV Week Logie for Most Outstanding Children’s Program.

Recent projects include the ‘big science’ series DNA Nation broadcast for SBS, Deep Water, a crime thriller mini-series and related feature documentary, a further series of First Contact, and the feature documentary Literacy for Life.

With Rachel Perkins, he co-curated the film program for the Message Sticks Indigenous Festival at the Sydney Opera House from 2002 to 2011.

Darren currently serves on the board of the Sydney Festival and is the Deputy Chair of the Council of the Australian Film, Television and Radio School. In 2012 he received the prestigious AFTRS Honorary Degree.

No results


The Australian Film Television and Radio School would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Bidjigal people and Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, on whose land we meet, work, study and teach. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, and extend our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from all nations of this land.