icon icon

Alumni Nominated in AACTA Short-form Categories

After screening at the Inaugural Shorts + Web Fest, several works by AFTRS alumni have been nominated in AACTAs short-form categories.

Named Flickerfest’s Best Short Film winner early this year, Nathan Mewett (Master of Arts Screen, 2018) and Curtis Taylor’s Yulubidyi – Until The End is up for another accolade, securing an AACTAs nomination for Best Short Film. Also contenders in the category are Jane Cho’s The Egg and Madeleine Gottlieb’s Snare.

Michi Marosszeky’s Woven Threads, an animated eight-part series sharing the refugee stories of eight people from around the world, is up for Best Short Documentary. In addition to receiving the AACTA nomination, Michi’s short The Day I Got My Dad Back was recently selected for Antenna Documentary Film Festival.

Dylan River’s SBS series Robbie Hood, edited by Kelly Cameron (Master of Screen Arts, 2017; Graduate Diploma in Editing, 2012) is nominated in the Best Scripted Online Video category.

See the full list of AACTA short form category nominees here.


The Egg
Editor: Lucas Baynes (Diploma in Editing Fundamentals, 2016)

Screenwriter: James Fraser (Foundation Diploma, 2012)
Costume designer: Laura Anna Lucas (Master of Arts Screen, 2018)

Yulubidyi – Until The End
Co-director/co-writer: Nathan Mewett (Master of Arts Screen, 2018)
Editor: Jessie Hildebrand (Master of Arts Screen, 2018; Graduate Diploma in Editing, 2011)


Woven Threads
Director: Michi Marosszeky (Graduate Certificate in Screen Culture, 2012)
Producer: Paul Sullivan (Graduate Diploma: Screen Business, 2010)


Robbie Hood
Editor: Kelly Cameron (Master of Screen Arts, 2017; Graduate Diploma in Editing, 2012)