icon icon

‘Sequin in a Blue Room’ bound for TIFF Next Wave and Dublin Film Festivals

‘Sequin in a Blue Room’ | Photo by Nicholas Gascoine

Samuel Van Grinsven’s Sequin in a Blue Room has gone from strength-to-strength since its 2019 debut and now the feature has added more stops to its expansive world tour.

After kicking off 2020 with sold-out screenings at Palm Springs, new festival selections have rolled in for the AFTRS Masters film, including Mardi Gras Film Festival, TIFF Next Wave Film Festival, Melbourne Queer Film Festival and Dublin International Film Festival.

TIFF Next Wave: Kicking off in February Sequin In A Blue Room will screen as part of the official lineup for TIFF Next…

Posted by Sequin In A Blue Room on Sunday, January 19, 2020

This follows a whirlwind year for the AACTA-nominated feature which has collected awards, rave reviews, and ovations at every turn.

Co-written by Samuel Van Grinsven with LA-based screenwriter Jory Anast, the film was made with fellow AFTRS alumni including producer Sophie Hattch and associate producer Linus Gibson (both Bachelor of Arts Screen, 2017), cinematographer Jay Grant (Master of Arts Screen, 2019) and editor Timothy Guthrie (Master of Arts Screen, 2018).

Associate producer Linus Gibson, actor Simon Croker, producer Sophie Hattch, director/writer Samuel Van Grinsven, lead actor Conor Leach and co-writer Jory Anast

Congratulations, once again to the team behind Sequin in a Blue Room.

Get tickets to the Mardi Gras Film Festival screening here.


Director, Screenwriter: Samuel Van Grinsven (Master of Arts Screen, 2018)
Screenwriter: Jory Anast
First assistant director: Stephanie Stretton
Producers: Sophie Hattch (Bachelor of Arts (Screen), 2017), Linus Gibson (Bachelor of Arts (Screen), 2017)
Cinematographer: Jay Grant (Graduate Certificate in Cinematography Fundamentals, 2014)
2nd unit DP/1st AC: Carina Burke (Graduate Certificate Screen: Cinematography, 2017)
1st AC: Dan Abbot (Graduate Certificate in Cinematography, 2014)
Steadicam: Jason Rodrigues
Gaffer: Nicholas Gascoine
Editor: Tim Guthrie (Master of Arts Screen, 2018)
Composer: Brent Williams (Master of Arts Screen, 2016)
Costume designer: William Tran (Bachelor of Arts (Screen), 2017)
Production designer: Anna Gardiner
H&M: Oliver Lefi-Malouf (Bachelor of Arts Screen: Production, 2018)