icon icon

Alumni Win Top Prizes at the Australian Production Design Guild Awards

AFTRS alumni have nabbed five major prizes for their work in screen design at this year’s Australian Production Design Guild Awards.

2018 Master of Arts Screen graduate Emma Bourke took out the Best Student and Emerging Designer Prize for her work on Shannon Ashlyn’s AFTRS Masters film Sweet Tooth. Emma worked on the short with costume designer Sabina Myers and art director Barry Jarrot. This comes off the back of the short’s CAPA Best Film Award for Fiction win as part of the Annual Cilect Prize Competition, as well as the Short Film Prize at Cinema Des Antipodes in Saint-Tropez.

Bowen Ellames (Graduate Certificate in Directing Fundamentals, 2014) received the Award for Best Concept Design Visualisation for Netflix feature I Am Mother, while Karla Urizar took home the award for Best Design for Live Performance in recognition of her work on Welcome The Bright World.

Alumnae Felicity Abbott and Nicki Gardiner received awards in the feature film categories for their work on major Australian features Ladies in Black and Hotel Mumbai.

Congratulations to all winners at this year’s ceremony.


ACS Award for Concept Design Visualisation
Bowen Ellames, Concept Artist

The Australian Ballet Award for Design for Live Performance
Welcome the Bright World
Karla Urizar, Designer

AFTRS Award for Student and Emerging Designer for Screen
Sweet Tooth
Emma Bourke, Production Designer
Sabina Myers, Costume Designer
Barry Jarrot, Art Director

Docklands Studios Melbourne Award for Set Decorations for a feature film or television
Ladies in Black
Katie Sharrock, Set Decorator
Felicity Abbott APDG, Production Designer
Sophie Nash, Art Director
Joanna Pullen, Property Master
Tania Einberg, Senior Buyer Dresser

Docklands Studios Melbourne Award for Production Design for a feature film
Hotel Mumbai
Steven Jones-Evans APDG, Production Designer
Nicki Gardiner APDG, Set Decorator
Marita Musset, Art Director
Dilip Moore, Art Director

See the full list of winners here.