icon icon

AFTRS Alumni and Council Chair Russel Howcroft Claim Top Prizes at the ACRAs

AFTRS radio alumni and Council Chair Russel Howcroft have been celebrated among the biggest names in Australian radio and broadcasting, collecting prizes at the 33rd annual Australian Commercial Radio Awards (ACRAs). The awards were presented at a gala event at Sydney’s International Convention centre, attended by 1,000 radio personalities and executives from around the country, and hosted by WSFM’s Jonesy & Amanda.

Howcroft and co-host Ross Stevenson took the title of Best On-Air Team (Metro AM) for the second year running, in celebration of their work on Melbourne’s top-rated 3AW Breakfast program. Also recognised among on-air talent were AFTRS alumni, Power 98.1’s Dana Hamilton, winner of Best Entertainment Presenter and both winners of Best News Presenter Country & Provincial: Southern Cross Austereo’s Scott Leek (Country) and 92.5 Triple M’s Rod McLeod (Provincial).

AFTRS alum, 2GB’s Clinton Maynard took another of this year’s top gongs, earning the prestigious Brian White Award for Radio Journalism.

Two out of three winners of Best Program Director are alumni: WSFM’s Mike Byrne (Metro) and 2QN/Edge FM’s Angela Frino (Country). Meanwhile, recent graduate Grace Garde earned Best Show Producer – Entertainment/Music for her work at Hit 100.9, Andrew Very earned Best Music Special for MMM’s School of Rock with Jimmy Barnes, and Marc Dwyer received Best Station Produced Commerical (Single) for Hit Network’s Live Bushfire Ready. AFTRS alum Sean Brown is also among the Hit 106.9 Newcastle team that claimed Best Station Promotion for ‘Newcastle’s Biggest Whirlpool’.

There was also plenty of AFTRS talent represented among this year’s nominees, with nods going to AFTRS alumni Tim Blackwell, Stephen Cenatiempo, Nat Penfold, Bella Frizza, Rebekah Wagstaff, Luke Shepley, Ed Kirkwood, James Willis, Shayne Sinclair, and Liam Sommerville.

Every year, the ACRAs celebrate the wealth of talent that drives the Australian commercial radio industry. The red carpet event celebrates excellence in all areas of radio broadcasting including news, talk, sport, music and entertainment. The national Awards include 39 categories and cover all areas of radio broadcasting. Winners are awarded in each category across three divisions: metropolitan, provincial and country commercial radio stations. The awards are peer judged, with entries received from 260 metropolitan and regional radio stations across Australia.

See the full list of 2022 winners here.