icon icon

AFTRS’ Head of Cinematography Kim Batterham Inducted into ACS Hall of Fame

AFTRS alum and Head of Cinematography Kim Batterham has been inducted into the Australian Cinematographers Society Hall of Fame at the National ACS Awards in recognition of his work and contribution to the craft of cinematography in Australia.

The award was presented to Batterham during the annual National Australian Cinematographers Society Awards held on Sunday 1 May in Adelaide. The ceremony marked the first national ACS awards held under the leadership of AFTRS alum Erika Addis who, in February, was elected as the first female National President in the ACS’ 77-year history.

AFTRS students and alumni were also recognised alongside many of the nation’s most accomplished talents in cinematography, receiving seven prizes on the night. AFTRS alum Velinda Wardell (I Am Woman, After the Smoke) was presented with another of the ACS’ highest honours, the Life Membership Award. Meanwhile, AFTRS student Jono Le Grice was recognised for his work on 2021 AFTRS Bachelor of Arts Screen: Production film, You and Me By the Sea, receiving the Distinction Award in Student Cinematography.

Erika Addis speaking at the 2022 ACS Awards

Winners also include AFTRS alumni Marden Dean, Gold Tripod in Drama Series for The Gloaming; Denson Baker, Distinction in Corporate Branding & Advertising (Vera Black 2020 Fashion Show) and in Drama Series (Domina), ; Tania Lambert, Distinction in 2nd Unit Cinematography (Wakefield); and Glenn Hanns, Distinction in Feature Films – Budget under $2m (Moon Rock for Monday).

Several AFTRS talents were nominated throughout various categories, including 2020 Master of Arts Screen graduate Cameron Dunlop (nominated for Adam Finney’s MA capstone, Where is my Darling?), Charlie Sarroff (Ian Kelly – Misunderstood), Sherwin Akbarzadeh (Ruel – as long as you care), Nicola Daley ACS (Swan Lake Bath Ballet), Justine Kerrigan ACS (Living Legacies), Bonnie Elliot (Flower Hunter – Zimmermann Spring 2021), Josh Flavell (A Fire Inside), Jay Grant (Headless Chooks), Marden Dean (Clickbait, Jack Irish), Zoe White (Hit & Run) and Jules O’Loughlin (Jolt).

See the full list of winners