icon icon

Major Prizes for AFTRS Alumni at the 2022 Logie Awards

Belinda Chayko, Tony Ayres, Andrea Denholm

AFTRS alumni have been recognised alongside some of Australia’s most-accomplished names in television, claiming four prizes at the TV Week Logie Awards. The stellar lineup of AFTRS graduates joined industry heavyweights as they assembled on the Gold Coast for the 62nd edition of the Nation’s biggest television celebration.

The Newsreader, created, written and produced by AFTRS alum Michael Lucas was one of the evening’s big winners, claiming the Logie for Most Outstanding Drama Series. It continued an impressive run for the ’80s newsroom drama which recently snagged five AACTA Awards, and a series of rave reviews—including this five-star writeup from The Sydney Morning Herald. Lucas collaborated with fellow alumni on the series, including editor Julie-Anne De Ruvo and production designer Melinda Doring.

ABC drama Fires, created, written and executive produced by AFTRS alumni Tony Ayres and Belinda Chayko, was also recognised, winning Most Outstanding Mini Series or Telemovie. Telling the story of those at the front line of Australia’s devastating summer 2019-2020 fires, the series stars AFTRS alum Hunter Page-Lochard and features the work of fellow grads, writers Steven McGregor and Jacqueline Perske, cinematographers Bonnie Elliot and Marden Dean, and composer Thomas Rouch.

Most Outstanding Factual or Documentary Program went to Incarceration Nation, edited by AFTRS alum Lindi Harrison. The factual series examines the connection between relentless government intervention since colonisation and the trauma and disadvantage experienced by Indigenous Australians.

Beloved children’s series Bluey won the Logie for Most Outstanding Children’s Program, the latest addition to the series’ hefty collection of trophies. The series showcases the work of AFTRS alumni, composer Joff Bush.

Held on Sunday 19 June at The Star Gold Coast Entertainment Precinct at the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre, the ceremony presented 24 prizes in recognition of on-screen talent programming across entertainment, comedy, drama, factual, current affairs and more. See the full list of 2022 TV Week Logie Award winners here.


Most Outstanding Drama Series – The Newsreader
Creator/writer/producer: Michael Lucas (Master of Arts: Film, Television and Digital Media Screenwriting, 2005)
Editor: Julie-Anne De Ruvo (Master of Arts (Film & Television) Editing, 2001)
Production designer: Melinda Doring (Master of Arts (Film & Television) Design, 1997))

Most Outsanding Mini Series or Telemovie – Fires
Creator/writer/executive producer: Tony Ayres (Certificate Scriptwriting, 1989)
Belinda Chayko (Bachelor of Arts (Film & Television) Scriptwriting, 1989)
Writer: Steven McGregor (Master of Arts (Film & Television) Directing, 2001), Jacqueline Perske (Specialist Extension Certificate Scriptwriting, 1993)

Cinematographers: Bonnie Elliot (Master of Arts: Film, Television and Digital Media Cinematography, 2006), Marden Dean (Master of Arts: Film and Television Cinematography, 2008)
Composer: Thomas Rouch (Graduate Certificate: Screen Music, 2009)
Star: Hunter Page-Lochard (Graduate Certificate in Story Development and Screenwriting Fundamentals, 2012)

Most Outstanding Factual or Documentary Program – Incarceration Nation
Editor: Lindi Harrison (Specialist Extension Certificate Editing, 1993)

Most Outstanding Children’s Program – Bluey
Composer: Joff Bush (Graduate Diploma: Film & Television – Screen Composition, 2009)