icon icon

Rowan Woods

Head of Directing

Rowan Woods is an AFTRS alumni and award-winning director of TV and feature films. As Head of Directing he concurrently directs international TV series and feature film projects and is currently a board member of the Australian Directors Guild.

Rowan Woods’ debut feature film The Boys starring Toni Collette and David Wenham was nominated for 9 AFI Awards, winning Best Director and was selected in competition for the Berlinale. In 2005 Rowan directed Little Fish starring Academy Award winner Cate Blanchett and Hugo Weaving which was nominated for 13 AFI Awards, 11 FCCA Awards, 8 IF Awards, including Best Film and Best Director.

Rowan Woods’ reputation as drama director is complemented by directing large-scale, international VFX-driven TV series, including Farscape, Spartacus and Hunters for Exec producer, Gayle Anne Hurd.

He directed 4 seasons of the multi-award-winning series, Rake for ABC TV, setting up the 5th and final season. In 2014 he was awarded the ADG Award for Best Direction in a Telemovie for The Broken Shore.

In 2016 Rowan Woods was set-up director for The Kettering Incident – the AACTA & LOGIE winning sci-fi series for FOXTEL / AMAZON. In 2017, his opening episode was awarded International Special Jury Prize at Series Mania, Paris.

In 2018 he won a BAFTA award for the opening episode of Nowhere Boys (ABC) together with fellow AFTRS alumni, exec producer, Tony Ayers.

In 2019 Rowan is directing the international sci-fi TV series The Commons for Playmaker, Stan and Sony, while concurrently acting as Head of Directing at AFTRS.

Learn about the Master of Arts Screen: Directing here.