icon icon

AFTRS x SFF: 50th Anniversary Alumni Short Films

13 Jun 2023

Event Cinemas, George Street, Sydney

AFTRS is marking its 50th anniversary at the upcoming Sydney Film Festival (7-18 June) with an incredible program of restored short films from some of our most celebrated alumni.

In 1973 when The Australian Film Television and Radio School was founded, inaugural Chair, Barry Jones, implored that the school must be “a revolutionary force” in Australian culture. AFTRS is celebrating the revolutionary spirit and legacy, on palpable display in this incredible program of short films from esteemed alumni of the School. This selection includes restored films from the class of ’73 – Gillian Armstrong, Phillip Noyce and Chris Noonan – alongside Ivan Sen, Jane Campion, Cate Shortland, Robert Connolly, Sue Brooks, and Catriona McKenzie’s remarkable first forays into filmmaking.

Robert Connolly, Gillian Armstrong and Sue Brooks will be in attendance and introduce their works at 6.00 pm on Tuesday 13 June.

See the program and book your tickets here.

Read more about AFTRS student and alumni work at the festival here.